Home

Alexa All Grown Up and Going to Medical School
Yaaaayyyyy, Alexa!!!! 

I’ve been quiet on this front, but life is popping in the real world.  My beautiful daughter Alexa has just learned she’s been accepted to the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine!!!!!!

Woo, hoooooooo!  Universal health care for WriteChic, bitches!!! 😀

I’m already helping her with financial aid.

Fucking shoot me.  Paperwork for bureaucrats.

She’s attending the LECOM campus near Tampa, Florida so she won’t be too far away.

Alexa graduated last year with a degree in Chemistry with a biochemistry emphasis.  Fuck, she was applying quantum mechanics to carbon atoms her last semester of school.  Her last shadowing experience was with a neurologist.

I brought into existence someone a million times smarter than me.

And more than beauty, brains, and drive is her decency, her ethic, her fire, and passion.  If I had not given birth to this girl, I’d want to know her anyway, be her friend or neighbor.

I don’t know if this is the final great prize in parenting, to see the child step autonomously across the threshold into her own promising future, but it feels fantastic. 😀

 

29 thoughts on “All Grown Up and Going to Medical School

    • She was recently made a manager at Victoria’s Secret. I know she’s bumming that she’ll soon have to pay full price for good panties and bras. Shit. I might have to go stock up before she resigns. At least Heidi Klum can breathe a sigh of relief that Alexa won’t be taking her job.

      My Plan B for Alexa was her marrying Prince William, but Kate Middleton has forced Plan A.

      It’s been Alexa’s dream since middle school when her father and I sent her to a summer camp to learn about the health professions. She saw an open heart surgery and knew she wanted to be a doctor. She OWNED math and science after that. 🙂

      • you know it’s every jewish mother’s dream for her child to marry a doctor! just kidding, it’s not like i have a single son or anything. oh, wait….. 😉

        seriously, you have every right to be as proud as you are. i’ve never even met her (my fault entirely), and i’m proud of her!

        • We’re not very good at meddling and matchmaking on behalf of the offspring are we? Yours and mine are obviously destined since Prince William is no longer in the picture. 😆

  1. Why are you surprised? She is every bit her mother’s daughter – every bit as beautiful, smart, caring, and grounded as you are. And you have every right to be proud. I’m sure this is just the beginning of great things to come.
    Congratulations!
    Oh, and by the way, when was she born, when you were what, 12? 😉

    • Thanks so much, Don. 🙂

      A few more days in Florida and it’s back up to Alabama to orchestrate the move to Florida. I’m tired thinking about it. 😀

  2. Congratulations, ya did good. I hope she follows the trend of doctors supporting more liberal ideas towards the practice of medicine and it’s application and access to all people.

    • Hey, Bill. 🙂

      My Lexa will always side with compassion and humaneness because SHE’S THE BOMB…to quote her brother. 🙂

      Thanks for the good wishes.

    • I have TWO grown kids. Zach is 21 earning a masters in mathematics. Huge brain with a slacker persona. He’d have forgotten to take his head to school if it wasn’t for Alexa’s superior organizational and my nagging skills combined.

      The recession kept them both at home for college. That’s the bright side of hard times. It’s been fun establishing an adult relationship with them. I admire them to pieces. 😀

    • I’m in Florida for a few more days helping out at Andy’s in Panama City Beach while my teens do summer camps. I missing them terribly right now. 🙂

  3. Ahhhh! Writechic, I have six adult children but I have been there a few times with the paper work for financial aid! Congratulations to you and your daughter…

    There’s so much more to look forward to. I just watched a documentary about a man who actually documented his little girl when she was very little all the way to “Going to College” 9I think that was the documentary.

    Congrats to you both.

    • Six!!! Wow! You have bunny genes like me. 😀 But I’d adopt four more tomorrow if I suddenly got rich quick.

      Just the idea of the documentary you mention makes me feel pretty sentimental. I’ll give my young twenty-somethings a few more years before I pester them grandbabies! I wanna play with babies and give ’em back! 😀

Leave a Reply

