Home

“President Obama is the most successful food stamp president in American history,” says Newt Gingrich.

And then he plays offended and stupid when called out on the racism laced in the remark. The Fifth Column.

Gingrich was rubbing elbows with Republican strategist and Karl Rove’s protege, Lee Atwater when the Southern Strategy was wielded with resounding effectiveness:

Interview question: But the fact is, isn’t it, that Reagan does get to the Wallace voter and to the racist side of the Wallace voter by doing away with legal services, by cutting down on food stamps?

Atwater: You start out in 1954 by saying, “Nigger, nigger, nigger.” By 1968 you can’t say “nigger” — that hurts you. Backfires. So you say stuff like forced busing, states’ rights and all that stuff. You’re getting so abstract now [that] you’re talking about cutting taxes, and all these things you’re talking about are totally economic things and a byproduct of them is [that] blacks get hurt worse than whites. And subconsciously maybe that is part of it. I’m not saying that. But I’m saying that if it is getting that abstract, and that coded, that we are doing away with the racial problem one way or the other. You follow me — because obviously sitting around saying, “We want to cut this,” is much more abstract than even the busing thing, and a hell of a lot more abstract than “Nigger, nigger.”

Gingrich is fooling exactly no one.

57 thoughts on “Gingrich: Here, Bigot, Bigot, Bigot. Here Boy!

  1. I don’t know if you didn’t do your research, or maybe you’re just hopelessly biased, but Rep. Gingrich addressed this sort of kneejerk racial paranoia in the same interview:

    “REP. GINGRICH: That’s, that’s bizarre. That — this kind of automatic reference to racism, this is the president of the United States. The president of the United States has to be held accountable. Now, the idea that — and what I said is factually true. Forty-seven million Americans are on food stamps. One out of every six Americans is on food stamps. And to hide behind the charge of racism? I have — I have never said anything about President Obama which is racist.”

    How about instead of hiding behind the “racism” chestnut, you address the statistics?

  2. Hehe, looks like I hit a nerve. How dare anyone expect you to back up your political opinions with reasoning, instead of just letting you shut down all debate with cries of “racism”? Haha, “code talk” — a way for you to pull racism out of thin air.

    Boy, you leftists sure are full of hate!

    • Yeah, the thin air of a political scientist’s interview with the former RNC chair Lee Atwater and the history of bitter and cynicial Republicans implementing the racist Southern Strategy which Mehlman acknowledged and apologized for.

      (Your next comment gets deleted.)

        • When I was in middle school I was called ni@@er lover, now I’m called bigot. Calling me names will never deter me. I’d have to actually value the offender’s position for the ad hominem bullshit to be effective. 😉

            • The first time was 7th grade, my introduction to public school in Slidell, Louisiana. To tell you the truth I was confounded. Then I wondered how being friendly to other nice people was supposed to make me feel small. And I concluded, the name caller never saw Roots and didn’t listen at church. 🙂 My wonder years.

              Shit, I think the last time was 12 years ago.

              I read that Freedom Rider story on CNN.com, and one of the guys beaten said he was called that. I totally had forgotten all of the times I heard that.

              Rep. John Lewis is my Civil Rights crush.

              • And I concluded, the name caller never saw Roots and didn’t listen at church. 🙂 My wonder years.

                And thus a Southern liberal was born 🙂 You and Cookie should write a book together. Speaking of books, please tell me “To Kill A Mockingbird” is one of your all-time favourite books, as it mine…

                As for John Lewis, the sound of Tea Partiers shouting the N-word at him made me realize that Jimmy Carter was right when he said there was a lot of racism directed towards Obama. Call me naive, but I guess the simple fact that a man of colour could be elected president in my lifetime made me think we were farther along than we apparently are. But now it doesn’t matter, as the re-election was sealed on May 1st 🙂

                TW

                • The jerks remind us, there’s a lot more to be done. But at the school I work for I hear kids constantly talking about race in a very comfortable, enlightened, and fun way. (And I’m in the deep South)

                  The only ones I worry about really are the Muslim kids…the girls particularly. Maybe this decade of growing up persecuted will produce some brilliant artists and storytellers. At least they don’t have the hurdle of being economically challenged.

              • Wow, I was called that too back when I was a transplanted Yankee to Robert E Lee Jr High in Monroe La (nestled in the armpit between Miss. and Ark.). It was 1972, I was the only one that wanted McGovern to win. Our classes weren’t segregated by race, they were segregated by ‘reading level’. The doctors office had 2 waiting rooms, No signs, but you knew which one to go to. The one with the furniture was for whites, the one with metal folding chairs was for blacks.
                There was a black family that was possibly being transferred to the job along with my father. When we went to the mall together we’d get stares and dirty looks. Obviously they chose not to move from the North.
                A year later our apartment complex burned to the ground. The fire started directly across from the apartment of an interracial couple. What a coincidence.
                Racists think they can get way with it by using code and declaring they aren’t racist. We know better.

                • The bigot defense now is “you’re the racist!” Which is equivalent to PeeWee Herman’s “I know you are but what am I.”

                  My middle school was the Boyet Rebels. The mascot made me think of Bugs Bunny:

    • Why do you cover your eyes for? Afraid someone will recognize you?

      You have no decency what so ever telling her to go you know what. So you and the right wing kooks who preach family values, are so full of shit you don’t have enough toilet paper to clean up.

      Grow up, and get a life.

        • I love the idiot posting with a WordPress address. You go out to it, and there’s nothing there. If he wants to attack, he should give somewhere to counter his stats.
          Don’t worry about twits like this. I had some guy I tried to debate because he claimed we were doing the Libyan no-fly zone to steal their water. His response was to claim we were making up the stories of Khaddafi’s forces shooting civilians, after which he claimed we had no right to bomb Germany or Japan in WW2! These yahoos are everywhere – laugh at ’em and move on.

  3. people keep mentioning the food stamp dig, but i don’t hear a lot of people pointing out that he used detroit as the place that nobody wants to be. that wouldn’t have to do with detroit being over 80% african-american, would it? i remember neon vincent saying that it’s quite popular to diss detroit in other parts of michigan.

    • Not just other parts of Michigan, Nonnie. I think it’s considered a Constitutional right in Ohio! 😀

        • Detroit is a beautiful city, sadly let down by the economy and the state government. There is a slide show of gorgeous Detroit landmarks, currently disintegrating from abandonment and neglect. I love cars, so Detroit has a certain Mecca-like appeal to me, and I love the gritty, industrial Rust-Belt cities just as much, re-doubling my love of the city. I would count them well-spent days to take a month and just wander the heart of the city – if I thought a white boy would survive the first couple blocks. 🙂 Detroit and Gary are two cities I truly feel sorry for, and wish for them a Renaissance.
          Not bad for a Windy City boy, eh? 😉

          • The thing I always tell people who wonder why I wasn’t afraid to visit Detroit when I was attending the University of Michigan is that there has to be people around for you to be afraid of 🙂

            The parts of Detroit I’ve been to haven’t seemed so scary as empty, and the recent census points out the obvious fact that the city’s population is shrinking. The current mayor has the thought that certain neighbourhoods with few residents should simply be razed and turned into greenland, like a Talking Heads song. I say, if it helps him better serve the parts of the city that are sustainable then so be it. Then we can start working on catching up to Chicago

            Type “Say Yes to Michigan (the state, not the avenue” Writer

  4. GOOD Morning, Melissa!

    There are times when I think my fellow Republicans are trapped in a time warp…retreading stale candidates like Mr. Gringrich doesn’t help.

    Listen, please let me say THANK YOU for your classy move on a non-related matter. I was/am touched. Have a great week!

  5. Lees famous quote: “Gunowners have nowhere else to go..” And help me finish up Stroms favorite saying- fuck a duck, screw a jenny, ………………..!

      • I prefer my flying girlfriends with 4 engines. Though I have gotten familiar with a P-47, and P-38s definitely turn my head! 😀
        (You think I kid? I spent an entire night, on a deserted misty runway with the EAA’s B-17, “Aluminum Overcast”. Wonderful lady, had some interesting stories to tell.) 😉

Leave a Reply

