Home

No Excellence in Education for You, Ms. Williams-Bolar.

Players:

Many players, profound income disparity, in fair Ohio, where we lay our scene, an ugly grudge blossoms as a School District of Depravity, where sanctioned greed makes civil hands unclean…

A single mother of two children, Kelley Williams-Bolar, is tried for stealing educational services.  She used the address of her children’s *grandfather to establish residency in the Copley-Fairlawn City Schools District.   Williams-Bolar lives in an Akron project in poverty as she works to finish her University degree in teaching.  She also works as a teacher’s aide.

(Testimony wraps up in Judge Cosgrove’s Court room)

Poe: We’re good stewards of our taxpayers’ dollars and it’s something that we will abide by.  A grave violation of the public trust has been committed. An inferior has shown a complete lack of respect for the law.  She must be exposed and punished. This woman should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law for her felony crime against money.

Walsh: And a good money stewart you are, Mr. Poe.   Thank you.

(Walsh turns to jury as Poe steps down)

And so, Jurors, the decision now lies with you.  Williams-Bolar felt her children were entitled to be educated outside of a rat hole.  Show her what she really deserves for not knowing her place and her children’s place in the projects.

Jury exits to deliberate.

Thinking Juror: This isn’t a crime.  It’s disobedience…civil disobedience, an infraction.  She shouldn’t have a felony and a criminal record for this.

Civilized Juror: The judge defined Ohio law.  It’s a violation.

Capitalist Jury Foreman:  This is clear cut.  She stole taxpayer money.  She goes to jail.  Period.

Hippie Juror: The grandfather paid taxes.  The money isn’t an issue.  You have no heart, Capitalist Jury Foreman.  She wanted a better life for her kids.  This will destroy her.

Capitalist Jury Foreman: Lesson learned.

Rest of the Jurors: Guilty.  We have shit to do.

Thinking and Hippie Jurors:  We kind of have shit to do, too.  Guilty.  Plus, we’ll be in trouble if we don’t go by Ohio’s law.

Jury returns to the courtroom.

Judge Cosgrove: Capitalist Jury Foreman, do you have a verdict?

Capitalist Jury Foreman: (yawns) We find Williams-Bolar guilty and sentence her to death.

Judge Cosgrove: Shut the fuck up, idiot, and sit down.  (Bangs gavel.) Five years suspended sentence, 10 days in the Summit County jail (one day counted off for time served), $30,000 of money she’ll never have as a fine, and 80 hours of community service for Ms. Williams-Bolar.  Plus, I’ll work with the criminal to make sure she can still become a teacher even though she’s now a convicted felon.

Kelley Williams-Bolar: (Crying.) To love another person is to see the face of God, and so you know how I love and why I did what I did for my children.  But I am at the mercy of a loveless state.

(Several Sources Used)

*corrected from father to grandfather

80 thoughts on “Les Misérables of Ohio (or Ohio sends a Mother to Jail for Sending her Children to the Good School)

  1. What I loved was, on last night’s NBC World News, they interviewed some schlub from the prosecutor’s office, who stated they have had 48 cases like this in the past year, and resolved 47 without criminal proceeding. See? They’re wonderful people! They only screw over 1 in 48 people! Wow! I gotta go find myself a crowd, and shoot 47 of them. Then, I’m innocent, ’cause only 1 in 48 is a true criminal, right?
    Wondrous Ohio. Where my perfectly healthy neighbor is on welfare, AND gets food stamps year round for his teenage son, even though the kid spends 3 months a year with divorced Mom. Whereas I can’t get bupkus, ’cause migraines aren’t a real disability. I’d try writing insulting letters to Putin so he’d nuke the place, but he wouldn’t want to waste a perfectly good nuke! (Sorry, Frank and other friends from Ohio! I love you guys, but…..)

    • The prosecuting cocksuckers chose the poor woman who didn’t have the means to fight back. It’s standard fare.

      The 47 other cases would be interesting to analyze. In my school district (filled with lawyer parents), penalties and punishments are dismissed routinely as the district realizes it cannot prove it treats all students and parents equally.

    • It’s also interesting the judge was a white woman. I really hate to say this, but I sniff the faint smell of “elitist white” against “working-class black”. I would REALLY like to see the judge’s record, see what her rulings are like. Especially, as you so well put it, they went after someone who couldn’t fight back.
      And we had TONS of these cases back when I lived in Chicago – constant stuff in the various rich suburbs, with people slipping in kids from less affluent areas. I can’t think of a single one that went to court – on the RARE occasion action was taken, it was nothing more than booting the kids back out – no charges, no fines, no nothing.

      • The judge didn’t like this case…(as I read folks) She’s giving apologist quotes left and right. She has enormous discretion as a judge but obviously kissed the asses of power.

        The Sup. (who used to be the assistant sup.) is the big mother fucker here. The district actually hired a private investigator to out Williams-Bolar. Have you ever heard of a school using resources this way?

        (omg…just read a Think Progress headline quoting Ohio’s new tea party douche governor talking to a black legislator: “I don’t need your people.”

        http://thinkprogress.org/2011/01/28/kasich-black-your-people/

        I’m guessing black people know what’s up in Ohio.)

      • Hey, it ain’t just black people. Dear Mr. Kasich announced that he’s gonna save the people money by living in his own house instead of the Governor’s mansion. Sooooo – we, the cows of Ohio, now get milked (or is that bilked?) for the cost of keeping up the empty Gov’s mansion, plus Kasich’s house. And he’s already spent money (I don’t recall how much) upgrading his house to serve as the Gov. mansion. And can’t you just SEE the line of contractors leading away from his place all the way back to, say, Pittsburgh? I am actually impressed – I don’t think any Illinois governor could actually get away with this crap! (Heck, we threw 2 or 3 of them in jail for less!)
        By the way, my dear, where DID you get your thesaurus? I want one just like it! “Pitiless soul-crushing monsters”? So tell me, how do you REALLY feel? (Oh, yeah, I think “big mother-fucker” was a vague hint. 😉 ) That’s what I love about your blog. You’re just a beautiful, sweet little Southern Belle – who uses language I haven’t even heard a Marine drill sergeant utter! 😀

        • Thank you, and I don’t need a thesaurus. Spellcheck, I need. 😀

          You should be proud I didn’t even use “ratcunt” once in the context of prosecutors, jurors, and school administrators even though I was thinking it the whole time.

          Disclaimer: I did call one prosecutor a “cunt of doom’ in the tag, but really…there’s no other fitting phrase. I was forced.

  2. so hold on a sec. the county is admitting that one school gets more money than other schools? shouldn’t all the schools, regardless of location, be given the same opportunities and services as every other school in the county? how could the mother be “stealing” county taxpayer dollars if all the schools were funded equally? perhaps, the mother lives in a different county. however, the father of the kids pays taxes (i assume) in the county where the kids went to school, so why arent they entitled to go there?

    if the situation had been reversed, and a mother was found to have been sending her kids to a crappy school, would they prosecute her or give her a medal for saving the taxpayers some bucks?

    • These are pitiless, soul-crushing monsters masking as humans, and Ms. Williams-Bolar had to face down the beasts, look the ugliness in its vacant eyes. She obviously had an affection and admiration for the Copley-Fairlawn area, and it’s staggering to comprehend the disillusionment she had to come to terms with.

    • More.

      Schools are funded by property and sales tax. Who ever has the best property and buys the most, has the best schools. Fact. Inequality can be proven.

      Schools are segregated largely by rich and poor, and since minorities are disproportionately poor, they get the shit schools…very separate, inherently unequal, and somehow this is acceptable…though Brown vs. Topeka Board of Education called for just standards.

      • Schools are segregated largely by rich and poor, and since minorities are disproportionately poor, they get the shit schools…very separate, inherently unequal, and somehow this is acceptable

        Sadly, this is true.

        I break with my fiscal conservative brethren on this one. I DO think that it is a responsibility of the society to tend to the education of our children, all of our children. I absolutely advocate for the taxing of citizens to pay for the education of all kids. Rich and poor.

        However, I disagree that the state should be the ones DOING the educating. Eegads, the state can’t deliver a letter, fix a road, build a bridge or even man a DMV for the love of gawd.

        We have to think of a better way.

        • I agree, pinto. Let’s privatize our state governments. Let’s sell Ohio to Hershey. Ohio shall become Oh’ioHenry.

          Our schools would teach all the important food groups: Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds, Extra Creamy Chocolate and Caramel, Cookies ‘n’ Creme, Symphony, Symphony with Almonds, Bliss, Drops, Kisses…

          Of course, our schools would have to be redesigned to offer a proper education:

          • I agree, pinto. Let’s privatize our state governments.

            Is there a real and distinct time in your philosophy when you feel the powers of the State end? Is there a limit to what the state does or should do?

            I happen to think that many of the things a state does would be better handled if the state took the approach that the state “makes sure it get’s done”.

            For example, all kinds of state employees use staplers, in your world, the state should manufacture staplers for government use. [I would have used cars, but you’ve already had your state buy the car company]. But the same thing with coffee and soda. Why not have the state produce cola and your chocolate bars?

            I agree that the state should make sure kids are educated. I simply feel that the state possesses no quality that makes them good at educating in the same way that I feel the state possesses no unique quality that allows it to make a stapler. Or printer. Or window.

            • “Is there a real and distinct time in your philosophy when you feel the powers of the State end? Is there a limit to what the state does or should do?”

              Of course, that’s why we should be governed by smart people who care about their constituants instead of greedy bastards who care about their contributors.

              “I simply feel that the state possesses no quality that makes them good at educating in the same way that I feel the state possesses no unique quality that allows it to make a stapler. Or printer. Or window.”

              I it’s fairly acceptable that someone wants to make a buck with a stapler. It is not with health and education.

            • that’s why we should be governed by smart people who care about their constituants instead of greedy bastards who care about their contributors.

              I’d even be willing to be governed by NOT smart people who care about their constituents.

              it’s fairly acceptable that someone wants to make a buck with a stapler. It is not with health and education.

              I don’t think that you understand the “profit motive”. It’s simply a system that allows groups of people to signal to other groups of people what’s important. For example, given two uses of a pound of sugar one person is able to make more “profit” in one manner than person B did in another manner is a signal that suger is best used first manner. When the profit signal is removed, you have the Soviet Commissars who hoarded wheat to make their assigned product leaving none left to make bread.

              There really has not yet been discovered a better way in which society is better able to signal value than the profit motive. In our example, bright young students will see that medical care is valued and choose to enter that profession. If, however, you dampen the profit motive in terms of health care, our young heroine will see that health care is NOT signaling value and will instead become an attorney. Now, attorneys are very fine people and engage in noble work, but I fear that our gracious host has all the attorneys in her neighborhood she can handle 😉

              My point is that we you don’t allow medicl care to be governed by profit it has to be governed by some other thing. And whatever that other thing is, it doesn’t do as good a job at allocating scare resources that have alternative uses as does profit.

              For a sufficiently shocking example, if your method were to rule the day, in time, a Sarah Palin or Rick Sanctorum will be in charge of your system. Are you willing to allow that?

              • “My point is that we you don’t allow medicl care to be governed by profit it has to be governed by some other thing. And whatever that other thing is, it doesn’t do as good a job at allocating scare resources that have alternative uses as does profit.”

                Someday, you may understand that life is not a board game. It’s not about winning. It’s about doing the right thing.

              • Someday, you may understand that life is not a board game. It’s not about winning. It’s about doing the right thing.

                Believe me, I’ve long ago discovered the answer is “42”.

                The difference between us, apparently, is that I am unwilling to legislate my version of charity. You clearly are.

              • Pino – If my taxes have to go to someone else’s child to pay for their schooling, is that charity? If my taxes keep your house from burning down (thanks to the fire dept.), is that charity? I’m sorry if I’m being thick (one of the side effects of my meds), but I’m having problems figuring out your definitions of charity (medical care) and necessary services (fire and police, schools, etc.). I would hope you aren’t suggesting that my health is less important than a stranger’s garage burning down! 🙂

    • the county is admitting that one school gets more money than other schools? shouldn’t all the schools, regardless of location, be given the same opportunities and services as every other school in the county? how could the mother be “stealing” county taxpayer dollars if all the schools were funded equally?

      Yes. This happens all the time. One school district has a different budget than another. In similar shocking news, one city has a different budget than another as well. In fact, there is rumor than one corporation has an entirely different budget than another. In fact, they don’t even talk to each other about common budgets.

      however, the father of the kids pays taxes (i assume) in the county where the kids went to school, so why arent they entitled to go there?

      Did you even read the article? Please do and then reply as to the relationship of said father.

      • I agree, Pinto. People siding with victims didn’t read the news right.

        And people asking for compassion didn’t read the constitution. How dare they ask for health care when nowhere in the constitution our founding fathers spoke of organ transplants, chemotherapy or penicillin.

        How dare they betraying our founding fathers!!!

        Jan Brewer is right: health is a privilege than can be denied at any time. It’s not the role of society to keep people alive. This is God’s role to make people sick and it would be blasphemy to go against God will. Or against the representant of God on Earth, Jan Brewer.

        • People siding with victims didn’t read the news right.

          The point was made that the children ought be able to attend school where the father was paying taxes. A good point. However, the father in the story is not the father of the children. It seems salient to point out the flaw in the debate.

          How dare they ask for health care when nowhere in the constitution our founding fathers spoke of organ transplants, chemotherapy or penicillin.

          It is a tricky separation; publicly funded education and publicly funded health care. I’m a free market guy and so I’m awfully big on the whole Liberty thing. That is my self, my time and my property is my own, you can’t take it from me. By claiming that health care is a right, you are basically saying that you have a right to someone else’s property; either their money [to pay for the care] or their talent. I disagree with that.

          Public education can be said to be the same thing. That taxing people for the education of the public is taking their property. I claim a difference, and I acknowledge I may not be on solid ground but I go with it, that children are not “free actors” in the market; they need adults. And because children of some parents would never make it to school, we need to provide for them.

          By the way, I am vehemently against health care as a “Right” but am a strong supporter for S-CHIP for the same reason above.

          This is God’s role to make people sick and it would be blasphemy to go against God will. Or against the representant of God on Earth, Jan Brewer.

          I’m not sure what God has to do with this, but you religious nuts are sometimes kinda kooky.

          • “By claiming that health care is a right, you are basically saying that you have a right to someone else’s property; either their money [to pay for the care] or their talent. I disagree with that.”

            And by claiming that health care is not a right, you are basically saying that if you can’t afford it, you should die.

            That’s the difference between you and me: no matter how much I despise your views, I wouldn’t let you die if you couldn’t afford drugs or surgery.

          • And by claiming that health care is not a right, you are basically saying that if you can’t afford it, you should die

            No, I’ saying that just you are dying you don’t have the right to knock on my door and force me to pay for your care by gun or sword.

            That’s the difference between you and me: no matter how much I despise your views, I wouldn’t let you die if you couldn’t afford drugs or surgery.

            So far we’ve only discussed my view on forcing people to donate to your charity of choice. You have no idea if I would or would not contribute freely.

            • That’s the “I’m only pretending to be a jerk” argument?

              Of course, you are against state welfare because you would donate just as much to the poor and the helpless if you didn’t pay taxes.

              You sound perfectly credible as a charitable person.

            • May I interject a real scenario for debate? I cannot work due to chronic migraines – they affect my ability to concentrate, drive, and on occasion, walk and talk (seriously – balance issues and difficulty finding words). If I were missing a leg, state aid would be simple. As it is, I cannot get any form of aid. Yet I am far from stupid, and I know how to do a great many things from manual labour to programming, physics, and history (writing, teaching, researching, etc.). Would you rather have me hang on the edge of civilisation as I do know, scraping together what I can from my wife’s meager earnings and charity? Would it not make sense to part with a small bit of your earnings, to allow me to get sufficient care that I could work, even in a manual labour job WELL below my education and capability? I mean no hostility – I would like to hear both of your opinions, Pino and Jean-Phillippe. I give you an exact case, rather than debating theoretical points. Thank you for the interesting debate so far.

              • And now I feel like a piece of crud for daring to compare my petty little inconvenience with someone who had a true health problem. I will probably live for at least a few more decades, even with the minor bother of pain. I just wonder how many Erics pass every day while the idiots in Washington twiddle their money-stained hands.
                (No worries, M, I know you meant no offence to me. I should’ve picked a less selfish example.)

                • John. Your example is utterly valid. I’ve had migraines, and they’re debilitating. Luckily, they’ve usually been a 24 hour event and months and years apart. The notion of the conflict of interest between healthcare and profit made me think of Eric. Your notion about being on the edge of civilization made me think of Eric. To be pushed out to the margins of subsistence with no rope to be pulled back, it’s a failure of community. 😦

                • Thanks for that story about Eric. While I am conservative in political outlook, I am (for multiple reasons) a fanatic about healthcare reform. While Obamacare will help, we also need legal reform. Until we can limit the monstrous settlements and frivolous bases for suit, we won’t have a full answer. (My twice-a-month doctor visit costs are over 50% for the doctor’s legal protection – he makes about $25 off of me after legal and office costs.)

              • “Would it not make sense to part with a small bit of your earnings, to allow me to get sufficient care that I could work, even in a manual labour job WELL below my education and capability?”

                Of course, it would. There’s no debate in that.

                Candidly, I dream of a world where society would tirelessly SEEK how every individual can best contribute to what I would call the common good. Our society is based on profitability. That’s why we’re annoyed by telemarketers on the phone when we are trying to eat and why our world is becoming a dump. Because a mind with a little intelligence will understand that useful and profitable don’t mean the same thing.

                • I meant no offence by my statement, and I didn’t mean for it to sound quite as belittling as it came out. I apologise to all for my clumsy wording, although the heart of my question still stands. While I appreciate not having to pay for other people’s potential failure to take care of themselves, we already pay taxes out of my wife’s meager income to help put our town’s children through school, even though we have none, and cannot conceive any. If we don’t assure care for all, why should I pay for other people’s educational costs? (That’s rhetorical, just for argument sake.)

                  • How could I be offended by a pretty blue face?

                    Money has worth only because society gives worth to is. We are nothing alone.

                  • I told M that the random choice of this site was spot on. Blue is my favourite colour, and the icon is perfect – round (I’m a bit chubby) and bald as a billiard ball. Add wire rim glasses, and ya got me! 🙂

                • Candidly, I dream of a world where society would tirelessly SEEK how every individual can best contribute to what I would call the common good.

                  I think I’m on board with that concept. I know I’m sounding like a broken record, but I’ll risk it, I caution you not to confuse society with government.

                  I would like a society where people didn’t lie, say the word “fuck” or divorce their spouse. I am not willing to legislate that.

                  Anyway, fantastic conversation. Mostly about something not education,, but alas, that is often the way of things.

                  I’ll leave this thread with some good news concerning our heroine, Ms. Kelley Williams-Bolar.

                  Some time ago, the Chicago school district changed the way it assigned kids to schools. It went from hard assignment to school choice. If an individual school was full, there would be a lottery.

                  This offered economists a fantastic chance to study how these changes would impact education in children. What they discovered was fascinating. As it turns out, the contributing factor to how welll a child did was not getting accepted to a “great school”. Rather it was even applying.

                  Two kids, each attending a yucky school, each attempting to get into a good school, one made it and the other didn’t. Turns out they perform equally well.

                  It isn’t the school as much as it is a support system that determines achievement. As such, Kelley’s child should do just fine. Clearly her mother loves her and cares about her education.

                  -p

                  • “I would like a society where people didn’t lie, say the word “fuck” or divorce their spouse. I am not willing to legislate that.”

                    Of course, pinto. You got my point right. I want to sedate mankind and put them in straight jackets. You unmasked me.

    • That’s probably what the founding fathers foresaw when they wrote in the constitution that a slave equals 3/5 of a person. They intended African Americans to give 40% of their organs to the important people.

  3. A mother sending a mother to jail over this… *sigh*

    That judge is lucky I’m not in charge of the biggest Ohio newspaper. She wouldn’t like the curse word next to her picture.

  4. This is really sad to not allow the father home as a qualifier, since he pays school tax for the district.
    the prosecutor had to make his example to prove that the common shall not mingle with their betters. Onward with the Toryification of America!

  5. The problem with this post is…well, basically EVERYTHING.

    (Bulk of comment deleted by sitemonitor because commenter possibly obtained information illegally.)

    But, hey, I’m old school.

    • Tell the Summit County Auditor’s Office I said, “Hey.” Is that how you know Williams-Bolar’s income? You see..because right before you visited, the auditor was on my site and strangely could not bring himself/herself to leave. Hmm? On the mother fucking taxpayer’s dime, too.

      Two hours and 38 minutes of your life just wasted. You feeling that, baby?

      Fuck off.

      • Two hours and 38 minutes to write a single comment on a blog? This sounds a lot like “I didn’t get laid since 1989”.

      • right before you visited, the auditor was on my site and strangely could not bring himself/herself to leave. Hmm?

        I’d be interested in knowing how you know that.

        On the mother fucking taxpayer’s dime, too.

        It would seem that if, IF, someone was suspected of fraudulent reporting of documents, that it would be reasonable to investigate.

        Defend her desire to get her kids out of failing public schools. Don’t be a partisan hack and defend her for what may be illegal behavior.

          • step away from the crack and read the post and links.

            Hmmm, at request, I did both step away from aid crack and did read post with links provided.

            You ask:

            Is that how you know Williams-Bolar’s income?

            From YOUR link, crack free:

            on the application for free and reduced lunches Ms. Williams-Bolar failed to disclose her job and income from the Akron Public Schools one year, and the second year, failed to disclose both her income and child support.

            If indeed, Ms Williams-Bolar was an employee of the Akron PUBLIC Schools, then her salary is public record. You don’t even need to shoo away the raccoons while digging through her trash can.

            And I’m still way interested to know how you know the auditor was on your site and for how long.

            Oh, and as long as we’re being strict adherers to crack pipe etiquette, you have an error in your version:

            She used the address of her children’s father to establish residency in the Copley-Fairlawn City Schools District.

            It wasn’t the children’s father, it was HER father:

            But it wasn’t her Akron district of residence, so her children were ineligible to attend school there, even though her father lived within the district’s boundaries.

            The school district accused Williams-Bolar of lying about her address, falsifying records and, when confronted, having her father file false court papers to get around the system.

            And if that dog’gon Capitalist Jury Foreman was worth his salt, he’da closed the public school and given vouchers to ALL kids 😉

            • The crack reference was meant to remind you that the post did not dispute a violation of Ohio law, and furthermore, the thrust of the post is that people do desperate things with good intentions. Suggesting I was defending illegal behavior as defined by Ohio law is absurd since I made the point that the behavior was a violation of Ohio law.

              Don’t be a partisan hack and defend her for what may be illegal behavior.

              I’ll tolerate ad hominem and you asserting the exact opposite of what I asserted briefly.

              I’ll also correct my error.

    • M, have I told you lately how much I love you? 😀 I saw the post, and debated about taking it apart, but I thought I’d stand to the side and let you have all the fun. And I see you exercised your gift for …. um shall we say, “flowery” language!
      God, this site is so entertaining, you should charge admittance! 😉

      • I know. I’m pretty fucking awesome and imbued with some righteous humility. 😀

        Maybe I’ll save all these IP addresses from these whores and mail it to Mrs. Williams-Bolar’s attorney. The ratcunt forces against her are obviously ominous.

      • Do it, and I’ll put you up for sainthood in the religion of your choice! 🙂 Or heck, we’ll just start a new religion for ya. With all the other fringe groups out there, who’s gonna notice one more? “Our Lady of the Not-So Immaculate Rhetoric” – works for me! 😀

        • Well, if you’re going to be the paragon of beauty and virtue for this blog AND your new religion, I guess you need a hideous warning as a counterpoint. Although I think I just heard a couple hundred people drop dead when they saw someone identifying me as a “sex symbol”. About the only time I’ve ever been a symbol for anything related to sex was accompanied by one word: “DONT!!!!” 😀

    • (Bulk of comment deleted by sitemonitor because commenter possibly obtained information illegally.)

      Poor form, Pan, poor form.

      Censorship is never cool.

      • I disagree. And I think you know better than to stand on an absolute.

        Censorship brought you this:

        Furthermore, I’m under no obligation to let my site be the mouthpiece for Summit County. They can heap injury on misery on their own goddamn website. Fuckers.

        • I think you know better than to stand on an absolute.

          You’re right; I do.

          He was a titch rude in his post, but I suspect it wasn’t the rudeness that caused you to censor his comment. I suspect it was that the facts didn’t align with yours.

          I’m under no obligation to let my site be the mouthpiece for Summit County.

          I agree with you 100%. You are not obligated to extend the concept of free speech on your site.

          • I’ll do this once, and it’s painfully tedious to walk you through this. So once.

            This post used fiction to make the point that people do desperate things with good intentions.

            That a crime had been committed as framed by Ohio law was never denied.

            I agreed with the judge that there is a problem with the law.

            If a white supremacist came on your site and started spewing free speech that put you in the position to feel as if the comment missed the point and generally lent nothing good to the discussion, maybe you would delete or maybe you would love you some free speech. I can’t say.

            If I have to choose between erring on the side of justice and mercy, I will choose mercy.

            I suspect it was that the facts didn’t align with yours.

            You don’t know what I know. I’ll tell you Summit County has now clocked 19 hours since yesterday on my website following this story.

            I think you just want to insult me because you see my world view as interpreting your world view as generally cruel, and you want to pay me back for thinking it. Fine.

          • Pino- At the risk of making a complete ass of myself (yeah, I know, too late), let me say this. I can’t read our hostess’s mind, but in my humble case, I viewed this whole diatribe as a commentary on the uneven application of laws. For the prosecutor in this case to claim this is only 1 of 48 cases that had to resort to legal action raises HUGE questions, not the least of which is why this lady and not the 47 others. This site is also built strongly on the basis of sarcasm and hyperbole, so with all due respect to everyone else here, I’d exercise a tad bit of caution before quoting ANYTHING here as authoritative. (I usually exercise my wit, or at least half of it, regularly on these pages.) As to knowing who’s on the site, the Site Admin has tools the average user doesn’t, in order to monitor traffic, right down to ISP addresses and registered city, state, and country. And finally, while I won’t comment on the moral issue of editing posts, this is WriteChic’s site. She can post whatever she wants, or doesn’t want. Her blog, her rules. There is another blog I frequent who deleted several abusive posts from Julian Assange supporters. Should he have done so? Great point for a moral debate. Did I berate him for it? Nope – his blog, his rules. We’re all guests here – if we see something we don’t like, we can try to RESPECTFULLY nudge our hostess toward our beliefs, but if she sticks to her viewpoint and you don’t like it, there are plenty of other blogs out there to visit. I’m not accusing anyone of anything here – I’m just suggesting we treat this as a bull session over the water cooler, not a trial at the Hague. Let’s just enjoy the lunacy, okay? 🙂

  6. if a white supremacist

    To be honest, there wasn’t one mention of race or color.

    put you in the position to feel as if the comment missed the point and generally lent nothing good to the discussion, maybe you would delete or maybe you would love you some free speech.

    Check THIS dude out:

    http://tarheelred.wordpress.com/2011/02/03/the-naacp-and-wcpss/

    you see my world view as interpreting your world view as generally cruel

    I have to admit that when I read that I brushed it aside. However, as I thought about it some more, I began to understand that to a degree, small or large I don’t know, but to a degree, you are right. I’m learning that it’s hard to separate the individual from the herd. That just because you are mocking the big “R” Right doesn’t necessarily mean you are mocking me.

    And not sure if you are interested in a policy debate at this point, but that is the crux of the problem, IMHO. I suspect that both the Left and the Right are after the same thing. We’re just wanting to use two different methods to achieve that. And when the Left accuses the Right of being cruel, I have to remember that just as often, the Right accuses the Left of being ignorant.

    As I mentioned when I first posted here, this is an attempt on my part to enter into more measured dialogue with those of whom I disagree.

    and you want to pay me back for thinking it.

    This is not the case. And where it comes across as such, I acknowledge, generally speaking, that it’s my issue.

    However, with that said, dissent doesn’t equate insult in all cases.

    For the prosecutor in this case to claim this is only 1 of 48 cases that had to resort to legal action raises HUGE questions, not the least of which is why this lady and not the 47 others.

    That question is addressed in chic’s links above.

    Why was Ms. Williams-Bolar prosecuted and no one else? The other forty-seven families approached by Copley Schools with residency questions resolved their situation by moving in or out of the district, or paying tuition. Copley is not an open-enrollment district and is mainly funded by taxpayers who live in that district; Akron, and some other suburban schools that are open enrollment, are given a greater amount of state funding. She was the only person who repeatedly would not cooperate and continued to escalate the falsifications.

    This site is also built strongly on the basis of sarcasm and hyperbole, so with all due respect to everyone else here, I’d exercise a tad bit of caution before quoting ANYTHING here as authoritative.

    In the spirit of the post, I plead guilty. It is precisely the tone that she builds that is the reason I enjoy stopping by here.

    She can post whatever she wants, or doesn’t want. Her blog, her rules.

    Agreed. Now, to be fair, I noted my feelings in what I thought, repeat thought, were the most gentle of terms; I quoted from the children’s show Peter Pan. I didn’t flame or even carry on.

    I’m just suggesting we treat this as a bull session over the water cooler, not a trial at the Hague.

    Well said.

    The crack reference was meant to remind you that the post did not dispute a violation of Ohio law, and furthermore, the thrust of the post is that people do desperate things with good intentions. Suggesting I was defending illegal behavior as defined by Ohio law is absurd since I made the point that the behavior was a violation of Ohio law.

    Fair enough; I yield the floor to the Madame.

    • if a white supremacist… there wasn’t one mention of race or color.

      Ok, you left the bigot talk up. I could have as easily used the example of a porn freak using language that offended you. Or if a NAMBLA freak or pro-cannibal wrote something vile. I know there’s a line you’d draw somewhere that would be too offensive for you to abide. That’s my censorship point.

      For me, (1) Williams-Bolar has suffered enough. The court has decreed it. So, I won’t let any commenter come on here and add to her misery by attacking her. (2) A government job title is very specific. A person can be called a teacher’s aide and be a particular level or have a completely different job title (ie. special ed., esl whatever) and technically not be a teacher’s aide. How did the commenter so assuredly assert a salary without special knowledge?

      The specificity of the commenter’s remarks coupled with the Summit County Auditor’s 19 hour visit creates the possibility that the auditor is feeding information to the commenter and covering his tracks. Or the auditor is the commenter. I suspect an abuse of power in the auditor’s office; so, I would not let the comments stand.

      just because you are mocking the big “R” Right doesn’t necessarily mean you are mocking me.

      I’m siding with the spirit of the law versus the letter. This woman had no record. She was no threat to society. She should have been told to either relocate to the district or transfer her kids. Period. The motivation behind the technically legal things she did wrong was not ominous. The prosecution and sup. used the letter of the law to beat her down. They won, but the victory is hollow.

  7. Pino- I took no offence at any point. I also didn’t think you were trying to flame, and if I gave that impression, I’m sorry. As to the question of 1 out of 48, I worded that badly. I meant it in a more broad sense – this thing happens in thousands of school districts across the country every day, and why this one particular case had to be pushed by the prosecutor. Since he chose the extreme case, and Ms. Williams-Bolar also seemed to go the hard route, that does answer THIS specific question, but not the overall topic in general. But that was my failed wording, so I’ll take an “aw crap” for that one, my bad. And in a reciprocal sense of peace, love understanding, and all that other hippie stuff, I too will yield to our good hostess. 🙂

Leave a Reply

