Home

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly.  -Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Letter from Birmingham Jail

I live in a world where kids call “Rosa” in order to claim a seat.  The first time I heard it was two years ago.  Two black girls playfully competed for a spot near the window on a bus.  Now it’s common kid speak.  I’m glad Rosa Parks’ life and memory still pierce imaginations and culture.

In college, a professor pointed out that Dr. King wasn’t assassinated until he took up the cause of poverty.  On his last trip to Memphis, he was engaged with sanitation workers and interested in furthering their fight for a decent wage.  Real Christian notions against greed and the mistreatment of “the least of these” were his antidote for the demoralization caused by poverty.  King made a promise that one day…one day, truth and justice would right the disparity of conditions that exists among men.

How long?  Not long.  Because the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends toward justice.” (Source)

King reasoned that humanity must become a thing that can live with its own conscience.  I find his faith admirable.  And I believe him.

On the Edmund Pettus Bridge, Selma, Alabama, March 2009

16 thoughts on “Day for a King

  1. King reasoned that humanity must become a thing that can live with its own conscience.

    Honest question, no snark.

    Do you find a meaningful difference between government and humanity? If so, how would you define it?

    • 😀

      How would I define the meaningful difference? There’s an ought/is gap to contend with, a notion versus a reality, but generally, government should be the handmaiden of the human race. The collective effort should serve the whole.

  2. I could never figure out as a kid what the big deal was at the lunch counters. Why are these white people so out of it? Then, after a while, they killed those four little girls in that church bombing and my young mind knew one thing for sure, the kluckers were the embodiment of pure evil.

    • I’m glad I’ve been able to hear so many people tell their stories about their trials. Older Hispanics and Greeks have told me about passing as white. I once listened to a former sharecropper. I’ll comeback and tell you his story later. 🙂

  3. Jean-Philippe’s words of “ahead of his time” are ever so true. I lived the crazy 60s – but as I look back at them, I see that I did not understand the times …. but with each step of the calendar beyond those times, I’ve gained not only a greater understanding, but also an appreciation of those times – at Dr. King and his work is at the top of the list.

    Great work for the day Melissa!

  4. Please add my voice to the chorus of others who appreciate yet another insightful, interesting and thought-provoking post, Melissa!!! Thanks for the interesting video, and accompanying picture on the Edmund Pettus Bridge as well–Cheers!!!

    • Hi, Al. 🙂

      Hope you’re well. I was thinking about you when I watched Rachel Maddow interview Meghan McCain. She reminded me of what her dad used to be: a bridge builder (speaking of bridges 🙂 ).

      Enjoy your Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

