Home

How many times have you looked in the face of human suffering and unleashed a sucker punch to its gut?

For Pat Robertson, it’s a living.  As poster boy for T.S. Eliot’s The Hollow Men, the televangelist said,

Something happened a long time ago in Haiti, and people might not want to talk about it.  They were under the heel of the French.  You know, Napoleon III, or whatever. And they got together and swore a pact to the devil.  They said, we will serve you if you’ll get us free from the French. True story. And so, the devil said, okay it’s a deal.”

This was Robertson’s pitch to raise money for earthquake relief efforts in Haiti!

One hundred thousand people may be dead.  The most conservative estimate was 30,000.   Thousands of the walking wounded arrive at hospitals only to find the medical facilities reduced to rubble.  Haitians are clearing away collapsed buildings with their bare hands.   And do you think America’s Greatest Recession Ever is bad?  Haitians have been reduced to using dirt (soil!) as flour to make food!!! And that was 2008.  It’s only gotten worse as prices for just about everything have gone up.

I’d tell Pat Robertson to go to hell, but he embodies any sort of notion about hell that I’ve ever encountered.  He’s there!

13 thoughts on “Holy Crap! Pat Robertson is a Demon!

    • Hi, Ric. I agree. I’d normally unload a tirade of dock worker expletives on him, but I really was whomped by the depravity it takes for him to come up with something like that.

  1. he also said that, since their buildings were all so crappy, maybe it was a blessing in disguise. 😯 what gets me is that the fembot sitting next to him didn’t smack him upside the head and ask him what the fuck he was talking about and then cart his off to the nursing home! his little history lesson wasn’t correct, even if you believe that kind of bullshit. the pact the haitians supposedly made with the devil only had a shelf-life of 200 years, and that would mean the pact was up in 1991. (i only know this stuff, because i have a post on this asshole going up this evening.)

    just imagine if a fundy church had been swallowed by an earthquake, and crazy pat’s tithers had been killed. what if an imam or a rabbi said that maybe it was a blessing in disguise or resulted from a deal with the devil? what would crazy pat tell his audience then?

    • Point well made.

      Funny you brought up the fembot. I was watching her wondering what was really going through her head. Anything?

      Her face looked a little pained though. Maybe she’s thinking, “you old ass SOB, what makes you think you can say that sort of thing? Are you using my color get away with it? What’s my yearly salary again?”

  2. There’s so much I could point out about how morally, historically and spiritually wrong he is. If he would have simply paid attention in World History. Oh I forgot they left out the role of Haiti and the role they’ve played in the composition of the US that we enjoy today.

    A pact with the Devil is the CBN contract with Pat Robertson.

    How is the ONLY successful slave revolt legitimately considered a pact with the Devil? If it wasn’t for the Haitian Revolution, France may have not sold us the Louisiana Territory.

    Side Note: You know what would make a huge statement. If those who claim to be Christians who either watch CBN or have their programs on CBN, pulled their show off. There are other religious networks who can pick them up, although they’re not property of the Religious Right like CBN, but Christian non-the-less. Advertisers, pull your ads from the 700 Club.

    Hmm…..

    I’ll be back.

    • Pat Robertson and his ilk are the traveling religious tent shows of another era. Except they do TV now. There’s no scholarship behind it, no love, no sense of marrying the actual teachings of Jesus with what comes out of a minister’s mouth or the “work” done. It’s a fly by the seat of your pants, say what inflames, collect your coins, and whistle to the bank operation.

  3. Someone forwarded me Satan’s letter to Pat Robertson. 😀

    Dear Pat Robertson,

    I know that you know that all press is good press, so I appreciate the shout-out. And you make God look like a big mean bully who kicks people when they are down, so I’m all over that action.

    But when you say that Haiti has made a pact with me, it is totally humiliating. I may be evil incarnate, but I’m no welcher. The way you put it, making a deal with me leaves folks desperate and impoverished.

    Sure, in the afterlife, but when I strike bargains with people, they first get something here on earth — glamour, beauty, talent, wealth, fame, glory, a golden fiddle. Those Haitians have nothing, and I mean nothing. And that was before the earthquake. Haven’t you seen “Crossroads”? Or “Damn Yankees”?

    If I had a thing going with Haiti, there’d be lots of banks, skyscrapers, SUVs, exclusive night clubs, Botox — that kind of thing. An 80 percent poverty rate is so not my style. Nothing against it — I’m just saying: Not how I roll.

    You’re doing great work, Pat, and I don’t want to clip your wings — just, come on, you’re making me look bad. And not the good kind of bad. Keep blaming God. That’s working. But leave me out of it, please.

    Or we may need to renegotiate your own contract.

    Best, Satan

Leave a Reply

