Home

I like this Republican Dr. Jeremy Levitt.   He writes in the Orlando Sentinel, “the scourge of anti-Obama fanaticism is nothing more than foolish racism masquerading as patriotism and phony Christianity.”

This is the sort of Republican that could fill the party’s leadership vacuum.  This is the sort of conservative I could actually have a civil discussion with.

If I were Keith Olbermann, I’d day “This is the sort of conservative with whom I could actually have a civil discussion.”  🙂

So, Fox News’ Bill O’Reilly invited Dr. Levitt to be a guest.  O’Reilly disagrees with Levitt’s characterization of the right and brings him on to discount what he says.

Thus insuring no sensible conservative voice will rise up in the near future.

Levitt unloads his evidence when asked for proof of his opinion:

What’s clear is there’s been a 400% increase of death threats against the United States President since he’s taken office.  White Supremacist groups have increased 4%, and they identify with the right wing.  And we go to the 9-12 demonstration that you covered so well on Fox, we had signs of Barack Obama being labeled as a pickaninny, an Africa witch doctor, a monkey, Primate-in-Chief, a Kenyan trying to destroy America, Obama’s plan is White Slavery, signs that said ‘we came here from Montana and Utah THIS TIME!!!!’ with exclamation points.   The American taxpayers are the Jews for Obama’s oven, Chairman Mao Obama.  This is just absolutely ridiculous…[O’Reilly interrupts.]”

The facts cannot persuade O’Reilly.  He tries to give Levitt the “last word” and it packs a punch:

You and your colleagues have a race deck and you play the Ace of Spades every night.”

Though when you watch you see O’Reilly really cannot give this man the last word.

16 thoughts on “I Like This Republican

  1. First time here …. interesting interview. Of course (for me) even watching O’Reilly for the length of this clip was difficult.

    • Afrankangle, thanks so much for the comment.

      I suppose my conscience has a debt to pay since I constantly rail on conservatives. I know the truth is that there are good conservatives that the only argument I have with them is their ideology. And that can be done civilly. So, this is my civil self. 🙂

  2. They will not be happy until something terrible happens. Then they will be quick to say that they didn’t mean for this to happen and it’s an isolated incident. Then it will be too late, because millions of people will be rioting and killing to avenge the death.

    What I’ve written and others are increasingly talking about is just a warning. I’m writing a series called “I’m Not a Racist” in hopes it may get the attention and make people more aware of the dangers of unconscious racism. I’ve given up on the Republican Party and many Republicans/Conservatives (since they don’t want to be associated with the Republican brand anymore). They will continue to ignore the obvious to their own destruction.

    President Obama can not really talk about race in detail, because he will then be put into a box (figuratively speaking) as The Black President instead of The President who is Black. That’s what’s messed up about this and what is difficult for people to realize. I as a Black man can talk about race all day long and what I say may be 100% correct, but it will be discounted. When someone White says the very same thing it gets more attention, because it is assumed that someone White is not going to speak against something that has them at an advantage. It’s ridiculous and unfair, but just watch how true it is.

    I know you know this. I hope you have the opportunity to check out my blog in a few days when I begin my series on “I’m Not a Racist”. I really would like to know what you think about it.

    • Just tag me, Tim, in your fb posts, and I won’t forget. I’m horribly busy this week.

      I know what you’re saying about someone black versus someone white addressing racism. You can imagine often I am that someone white. On occasion..too often quite honestly, I”m no longer regarded as white when I pop off about bigots. I am something else, but definitely not “one of them.”

      And that’s fine with me.

  3. One last thing I accidently omitted. I know that all Republicans are not like O’Reilly, Rush, Newt, Cheney or even the clown Glenn Beck. Even as a Democrat I still hate to see a party get destroyed by the cancer of hate. Despite all of the warnings, evidence and symptoms of unconscious racism the sad fact is that it has already taken a firm grip of the GOP base now. I don’t know who in the GOP can save it from what it is becoming. If the Libertarians are politically savvy enough they would use this as a prime opportunity to strike a crippling blow to the GOP while they can. I can almost bet the Democratic Party would not say anything. But that’s just my analysis.

  4. Good point, Tim, there are some decent worthwhile Republicans. Kinda felt sorry for O’Reilly as the video reveals that he my have bitten off more than he could chew when engaging Dr. Levitt.

    Sometimes I wonder if the likes of O’Reilly, Limbaugh, Gingrich, etc. have been turned by the otherside and are purposely sabotaging the Republican rank and file. If not, with friends like these, we don’t need enemies.

Leave a Reply

