Home
The Young H.G. Wells as Hacked By Me

The Young H.G. Wells as Hacked By Me

The young H.G. Wells was just too damn handsome for me to draw.  I painted the lily.  And besides being a turn of the 20th century hottie and brilliant, imaginative storyteller, he knew what he was talking about when not writing books:

Affliction comes to us, not to make us sad but sober; not to make us sorry but wise.

Cynicism is humor in ill health.

Crime and bad lives are the measure of a State’s failure, all crime in the end is the crime of the community.

I want to go ahead of Father Time with a scythe of my own.

Human history becomes more and more a race between education and catastrophe.

Tonight, I’m drawing Mark Twain. I know I’ll OWN his mug.

2 thoughts on “H.G. Wells is Better Than Me

  1. To write a good book I think you need to know what you’re talking about to begin with. It’s the culmination of a lot of wisdom and experience. A bad book is pretty much the lack of these, as well as a sense of humor, among other things.

    I love the quote about cynicism, though. Pretty accurate, I think. As for the painting, it’s very…mod (for lack of a better word). I like it, though, especially the shiny hair detail.

    • You’re very generous. 🙂 Thank you.

      I read some bad books last fall just to see what it would be like. (Ray Bradbury advises delving into the dreadful dumb….so I was experimenting.) I won’t do it again!

      Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

