Home

 

Proving Love can Save

Proving Love can Save

Two thousand dollars has been raised in the last 24 hours on Eric’s behalf!  I’ve learned it’ll take $148 thousand more to get Eric on the transplant list.  A heart transplant costs $780,000.  The numbers seem insurmountable.  Yet, I have faith anyway.  I learned from the writer Herman Hesse in his book Siddhartha that loving is the most important thing that we will ever do as people.  I believe it. And I believe one person can be all people.  We’ve all read at least dozens of times from Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly.  I can never be what I ought to be until you are what you ought to be.”

Veronica forwarded this note this morning:

If you have a facebook, myspace page or twitter account, please get this out there.

https://writechic.wordpress.com/2009/05/15/lean-on-reid/

Also, please forward it to as many people as you know.

I also need help with a few things:

  • we are making tshirts to sell to fundraise, does anyone know a tshirt co? American Apparel perhaps?
  • I need help working phones, scouring internet
  •  well-connected people willing to help fundraise.

In the past 24 hours we’ve raised 2k. A heart transplant is 780k. If we get at least 150k then we can get him on the list and hopefully I will be able to get his disability for him.  Doctors say time is running out for him and we need to get him to a hospital where they can at least give him an LVAD or defibrillator.  He is on 3 IV’s and that is the only thing keeping him alive.  I don’t want to move him, but have to.  I am scared to do this.  I will have to race him to LA and to the ER. My heart is breaking.  Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers.

Please help in any way you can. I thank you.

Love,
 Veronica

An amazing stranger created this website for Eric last night:

http://weloveeric.com/

and a tough guy from the Bronx found his heart (though he’ll never say so):

http://bbltwt.com/jjpmv

This looks like the beginning of a momentum!  That’s what my heart hopes.  No heartfelt wish is too inconsequential.   No donation is too meager.  No post or link or kind word will go unappreciated.

❤ Melissa

"In dreams and in love there are no impossibilities."

"In dreams and in love there are no impossibilities."

4 thoughts on “Eric De La Cruz Proving Love Can Save

  1. Well you know a quote from MLK always catches my attention. Also pretty women in Santa suits gets my attention too.

    I wish I could just heal people, but I’m not the son of God either. I hope he gets the remaining $148k in time.

    Good Post.

    • Thank you, Tim. And Veronica’s a beauty inside and out:

      Eric is lucky to have such a sister. She’d never just wring her hands, fret, and be swallowed up in despair. She aims to move a mountain. 🙂

  2. Hi !
    First of all, I am with you with all my heart!
    I read that Veronica needs some brand t-shirt…and as it is my profession… I really think that American apparel is very expensive to make such a production…I want to know if she wants to print on a plain t-shirt… ?perhaps you can go with

    fruit of the loom, pima apparel, Gildan, hanes tongyi-textile

    one I have found very interesting (price and infos)

    http://www.blankshirts.com/T-Shirts.htm

    you have most of the brands there

    If there is anything else I can do to help…just tell me..It will be my pleasure

    love xXxx
    B =)

  3. Pingback: I ♥ Harry. « WriteChic Press

Leave a Reply

