Home

Keith talks to John Cleese about that Joe the Plumber guy, the Republican Everyman who is nothing like an Everyman and if only the Democrats had Karl Rove:

If Rove was on the Democrat side, by now he would have run something about John McCain saying, ‘This man–this so-called hero–spent 5 ½ years, the most formative years of his life, in a Communist country, speaking only to Communists.  He never had to pick up the tab.  He got free accommodations, free food.  Do we want someone as president who has been palling around with Communists?'”

Cleese also questions McCain’s sanity just “a little bit” after the GOP candidate addressed a rally as “my fellow prisoners.”

7 thoughts on “John Cleese Speaks His Piece on Countdown

  1. I think that’s the closest we’ve come to hearing the C-word on television since Monty Python ran the Travel Agent’s sketch where the fellow couldn’t say the letter C so he used B … and called himself “a silly bunt.”

    Screaming hilarity – thank you for this! And thank goodness for John Cleese.

  2. Thanks for visiting, Ian and Carol! Cleese had me awake before the coffee this morning. I think the laughter started when he said he was 69 or nearly dead. It reminded me of the dead parrot routine.

  3. I just love John Cleese!!!!! He is brilliant!!!! His Bill O’Reilly poem was GREAT! Now I’ve got to go look up his Hannity poem!

    The dead parrot routine is one of my all-time favorites!!!! I must say that my husband does not get Monty Python at all. I’ll be sitting there dying laughing watching it and he just looks at me like I’ve lost my mind!

  4. Ode to Sean Hannity

    by John Cleese

    Aping urbanity
    Oozing with vanity
    Plump as a manatee
    Faking humanity
    Journalistic calamity
    Intellectual inanity
    Fox Noise insanity
    You’re a profanity
    Hannity

    I found it for you. 🙂 I love the dead parrot, too. But I think my favorite is Argument Clinic…and Spanish Inquisition.

  5. Oh God, I love it! Hannity IS a profanity!!!!!

    I’ve been watching old Monty Python on YouTube. Good stuff! The Argument Clinic is great too!

  6. I was shocked to see that you have to wait in a line for 4.5 hours to place your vote in some states. In The UK and Spain (where I now live) there are voting stations in every neighbourhood and you go in with your voting papers and vote. It takes 10 minutes max. To take 4.5 hours is either massive inefficiency OR a concerted effort to make it as difficult for ordinary working people to vote.
    PLEASE PLEASE, if there is to be any hope for the world, YOU have got to vote for CHANGE.

Leave a Reply

