Home

Rasmussen called a few minutes ago.  I took the survey.  They wanted to know whether I thought the country was on the right track or the wrong track.  They wanted to know if I was a woman.  They wanted to know if I supported Obama or McCain and how strongly I felt about it.  They asked me about Bush.  They asked if I thought Jim Lehrer would be fair at the debate, if I thought debate was a good measure of candidate ability, if I knew what network Lehrer was affiliated with, if I’d seen any racism in the last week (I had), if I’d seen any sexism (I had), if thought sexism was a bigger problem them racism.

The chances of being called by Rasmussen are well over one and a million; so, my statistical luck wad has been shot now.

8 thoughts on “When Rasmussen Calls…

  1. That’s weird. I got a call from Gallup about a month or so ago. Anyway, I hope you gave them an earful! I figured if I answered their questions in a really loud voice they would count me twice! LOL!

  2. Maybe the internets and googles are selling our names. I did everything possible to indicate Obama/Biden is the ticket. 😉 I guess your statistical luck wad has been shot, too.

    The question about racism caught me off guard as much as the racism I saw. I actually heard a member of the school staff griping about having to be responsible for so many black kids. And my husband got an unsavory earful, too, at his job. An old white Republican lady said she hates Bush, but couldn’t bring herself to vote for a black. I should have added the World Going to Hell in a Hand Basket tag.

  3. Dang. If I had known about that statistical luck wad thing, I wouldn’t have answered the phone when I saw “Gallup” on the caller i.d., and would have bought a lottery ticket instead!

    Regarding racism, it is remarkable that, not only such attitudes still exist, but that people are so open about their own bigotry. Even in N.C., it still throws me for a loop when I encounter it … and I grew up here.

    Interestingly enough, I also witnessed racism this past week. A man told me he hated a more northern city in which we both had previously lived because … I won’t repeat what he said; let’s just say it was in code. Perhaps it’s my southern accent, but bigots often feel comfortable showing their ignorance in front of me. Usually, though, they are from other parts of the country! Whenever that happens, as it did last weekend, I always try to immediately make them UNcomfortable. I give them a dead pan, wide-eyed innocent look and say, “I don’t understand what you mean. Explain it to me.” If they repeat just what they said in the first place (as happened last weekend), I shake my head a little and say, “But I don’t understand what you’re saying. Explain it to me.” Believe it or not, I’m very non-confrontational. Of course, they cannot “explain,” because I’m insisting they not talk “in code” and just own up to being a racist asshole. Racism is ignorant and irrational and is, therefore, indefensible. I say, make the bigots defend it.

    I’m happy to report the man who was talking to me last Saturday actually blushed when I pushed him to elaborate, and opted to say no more. I count that as a “win.” Unfortunately, I doubt he lost any sleep over it. We had begun the conversation as friends and we parted friendly enough; however, he completely lost my respect. If I lost his, that’s just another strike against him.

    Grown-ups learn to shed what doesn’t work or what isn’t right, even if it permeates what passes for “tradition” in some areas of the country (or in families). Racism isn’t natural. It’s learned. Let’s force the bigots to stop teaching it openly, surreptitiously or or any other wise. Next time your husband sees the old lady, tell her she could be Obama’s grandmother. That will, at least, probably shut her up.

  4. When I was in college, I’d tell racist types I am part black…which isn’t even a lie since according to a sociology course I took we’re all 50th cousins at least.

    My husband has a sexy, mesmerizing voice that would have seduced the old bitty into an episode of enlightened thinking if it hadn’t been for his work mate (a democrat) who guffawed and belly-laughed at her for 5 minutes.

    My old boss advised treating racists as if they’d just farted in public. Ignore what they say, counter it with what’s right and structure the sentence as if they do not really think what they think. He thought he could bring people around by doing that.

  5. “…a sexy, mesmerizing voice that wold have seduced the old bitty into an episode of enlightened thinking …”

    Would your husband be willing to do some Public Service Announcements?

    writechic, the best book I’ve ever read about racism is Blood Done Sign My Name, by Timothy Tyson. If you’ve read it, I’d love to read your thoughts on it; if you haven’t read it, I think you’d get a lot out of it.

  6. “Would your husband be willing to do some Public Service Announcements? ”

    Seriously?

    I’ll check out the Tyson book. The last books I read that addressed racism were by Jonathan Kozol.

  7. Hey, I think it’s a great idea (sexy-voice man doing some PSA’s to smack down racism and let’s throw sexism in there too), but I don’t have any pull in that department (hell, I don’t even have any pull in my own household, some days)!

    I’ll check out Kozol too. Thanks for the discussion.

    BTW, do you know of any prizes given for “Most Frequent Use of Paranthetical Phrases Whilst Writing on the Internets” for which I might be eligible?

  8. Oh! Gotcha. 🙂

    Kozol–Savage Inequalities and Amazing Grace. Savage Inequalities is older, but he did such a fantastic job of documenting the challenges of impoverished school children. Both books made me cry.

Leave a Reply

